

Chinook's Edge School Division

4904 - 50 Street | Innisfail | Alberta | T4G 1W4 403-227-7070 | 800-561-9229 www.cesd73.ca | Where Students Come First!

January 18, 2024

Dear Sylvan Lake families,

Re: Bus transfer location moving to École Fox Run School on February 1, 2024

We are writing to let you know about a change in our bus transfer process that will not only impact bussed students, but may impact traffic flow at École H.J. Cody School and École Fox Run School before and after school.

We are pleased to share that Chinook's Edge School Division is moving the bus transfer location (where students on one bus transfer to a different bus to get to their school). The bus transfer location has been at H.J. Cody. As of Thursday February 1, 2024, which is the first day of semester two, the bus transfer location will move to the bus loop at Fox Run.

We are pleased with this change because we believe it will increase safety for all students, staff and families.

As of February 1:

- Rural buses will drop off high school students at H.J. Cody at about 8:05 a.m. and then head to Fox Run.
- At Fox Run, at about 8:15 a.m., students attending elementary schools will transfer to the appropriate shuttle bus for the remaining distance to their school.
- In the afternoon, elementary students who ride shuttle buses will be dismissed from school first, so that their shuttle buses can get to Fox Run by 3:15 p.m. The students will then transfer to the appropriate rural bus.
- When the rural buses go to H.J. Cody in the afternoon, they will only be picking up high school students.

We would ask all parents to please be aware of buses coming and going at all of our schools, and please prioritize safety. Specifically, we would request that families please avoid the bus drop off areas:

- At Fox Run between 8:10 and 8:20 a.m. and 3:10 and 3:20 p.m.
- At H.J. Cody between 8:00 and 8:10 a.m. and 3:20 and 3:30 p.m.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact your child's school principal.

Sincerely,

Sylvan Lake Principals:

Anne Frey - C.P. Blakely Elementary School Don Rattray - École Fox Run School Jody Dennis - Beacon Hill Elementary School Alex Lambert - École H.J. Cody School Angela Eadie-Gyori - École Steffie Woima Elementary School